Groups overview | Glue Guide

What is a Group?

Groups are a collection of people in your workspace that organize people by team, department, or project, allowing you to send threads to specific audiences.

Groups can be thought of as the improved replacement to a channel. Groups still accomplish the goal of reaching a specific audience of people, but since threads are not specifically locked into group, you do not need to create groups for every specific combination of people.

Overall, there should be far fewer groups compared to channels in a channel-based chat system.

Recommended use cases for groups

Since one thread can be sent to multiple groups and individuals simultaneously, there’s no need to create overly specific groups for every situation.

Ways to interact with a Group

Private Group Chat

Every group has a private chat that can be used for quick questions or casual conversations that don't require a thread. You can always turn any message into a new thread after the fact.

Threads for Groups

Users can start threads with one or more groups to keep the right people in the loop and keep your conversations organized. The thread will show up in the Groups’ chat and thread list for each Group.

Group Features

Each group has its own hub to interact with the other group members, catch up on current discussions and manage group settings.

Remember, a thread can include multiple recipient groups, so if you belong to several groups added to a thread, you'll see that thread in each group's thread list.

Accessing and creating Groups

Accessing groups you belong to

You can access the groups you belong to in two main ways: through your Inbox or the Directory in the Groups section.

Creating a new group

You can also create groups in these same spaces.

Here's what you can do when you create a new group:

Anyone in the workspace can create a group. We recommend being thoughtful before creating a new group though. Review which groups exist and consider if a thread will work instead for a short-term conversation.

Browse all the groups in your workspace

You can see all the groups in your workspace by accessing the groups section of the Directory. You can browse all group names and view all public threads for a group without joining it. If you need to see all threads and chats, you will need to join the group.

A group might be open to join right away, or require you to request access first if it's a closed group. See group access settings for more details.

Leaving a group

For users who want to leave a group

  1. Open the group in your app.
  2. You can leave the group in two ways:
    1. Click the ellipsis icon on the right-hand side and open the group menu. The last option is to "leave group."
    2. Click on the name of the group at the top, and go to the Settings tab. Select "Leave Group."
  3. A pop-up will come up asking you to confirm that you want to leave the group. Select "Leave group" again.

For admins who want to leave a group

  1. Open the group in your app.
  2. Click on the name of the group at the top, or click the ellipsis and select "Group settings." Either way will open the group menu.
  3. Navigate to the Settings tab (if opened from clicking on the group name).
  4. Scroll to the bottom and select "Leave group."
  5. A pop-up will come up asking you to confirm that you want to leave the group. Select "Leave group" again.